NARS

by The Sean Maloney Show

N a r s  C o s m e t i c s

As a make up artist I come across thousands of beauty products and hundreds of beauty brands from premium to self-selection. But what really makes a product stand out from the crowd? I always find myself drawn to premium brands such as Chanel, Mac Cosmetics, YSL, Nars and Tom Ford because I believe in “you get what you pay for”.

After working for brands such as No.7 and Mac Cosmetics, I’ve had experience at both ends of the beauty spectrum. After hearing many celebrities and beauty magazines talk about Nars cosmetics I decided to try out the key 3 best-selling products of which I needed for my own personal make up artistry kit.

image

When approaching the Nars counter I instantly loved the large font and plain coloured branding standing out from the rest of the cosmetic beauty counters. I also liked the placing of the products and the design of the counter, simplistic yet incredibly eye catching and effective. However the size of the counter was surprisingly small with only one small area to sit clients down meaning the counter looked over populated and over crowded by just a few customers gathering round.

My first purchase was the popular highlighting blush Albatross and I’m absolutely in love with this product. A gentle powder highlighter to apply to the top of cheek bones to give you that defined contoured look, this product is perfect for the job. The colour is a mixture between rose gold and silver giving you the best if both worlds and with the product being a powder it makes it much easy to blend and buff into the skin. This is my new favourite highlighter and I would more them recommend you to try it! Slightly shimmery but not over the top this is a key product to use for everyday highlighting but easily buildable for editorial and event make up. I would recommend applying this to the cheekbones with a MAC Cosmetics 224 brush for the precise placing of the product.

The second product I purchased from Nars was another stand out product I instantly fell in love with when trying on the counter. It was the chubby lip pencils which are a lip pencil and lip sticks all in one. I know what your thinking, another Clinique Chubby Stick? No definitely not. The texture of a creamy sheer look which gently glides into the lip this product is one of a kind on the market offering you a lip pencil and lip stick all in one easy product. Easy to sharpen and very pigmented, this amazing lip pencil is available in a range of colours. I went for a creamy nude as I find it will go with most smokey eyes and can even be worn day to day. Overall I’m more than happy with this product and the quality delivered by Nars. With a price point of just under £19, I felt this was slightly high for the product however for such high quality make up artistry products I paid the price and was on my way!

My third product I purchased from Nars was the famous Laguna Bronzer, this was currently on offer for £35 in a large bronzer set with mirror and Kabuki brush worth £44. This was an amazing deal for such a popular bronzer. Currently using the Tom Ford bronzer in terra I didn’t think I could find anything on the market to match the quality and size, however when testing out Laguna this made a great product to contour with. With warm tones and as light shimmer this is your perfect bronzer to contour with giving you definition in the areas most needed. A powdery texture again I find this mucho easier to work with rather than a cream or liquid as once the hate on the skin and blended out there isn’t any room for movement of mistake!

Nars has really surprised me with the high quality ingredients used in its products but also the range of colours within the products stretching far and beyond some of the other beauty counter such as Bobbi Brown and Estée Lauder, who still seem to be stuck with that everyday pink and the odd ‘statement’ red. Edgey and on trend Nars is a make up brand set to continue to shoot within growth. The pricing of the products is slightly high for what they are and I believe a decrease in price would make this brand a little bit more accessible to your everyday woman, however with Nars a leading profession in the premium beauty industry I’m doubtful a price decrease will ever happen.

Albatross highlighter 9/10

Chunky lip liner 7/10

Laguna bronzer 7.5/10

Follow me on Instagram: SeanMaloneyy

Follow me on Twitter: @MakeUpBySM

